contact profile privacysearch log in
HomeAwards Whitmore Lecturer

Whitmore Lecturer

2019 Whitmore Lecturer Presentation. Joseph A. Smith, MD, 2019 Whitmore Lecturer, with SUO President, Christopher P. Evans, MD, FACS.

The Willet F. Whitmore Jr. Lectureship was established in 1993 as a keynote address to be delivered at the Annual Meeting and as a tribute to Dr. Whitmore, who embodied the field of urologic oncology as a premier urologic surgeon and as a pioneer in the multidisciplinary aspects of urologic care. Of all the contributions that Dr. Whitmore made to urology, his proudest and most enduring was his role in defining the specialty of urologic oncology. He was the first to establish a Clinical Fellowship in Urologic Oncology and, later, a year of research. Dr. Whitmore was the first Whitmore Lecturer in 1994. Dr. Whitmore died on May 8, 1995, from carcinoma of the prostate, a disease he devoted his life to treating.

Awarded Honorary Members, a $2000 honorarium, and a plaque at the AUA meeting.

  • 2022 Eila C. Skinner, MD
  • 2021 Peter R. Carroll, MD
  • 2020 No award presented
  • 2019 Joseph A. Smith, MD
  • 2018 W. Marston Linehan, MD
  • 2017 Colin Dinney, MD
  • 2016 Arie S. Belldegrun, MD, FACS
  • 2015 Ian Murchie Thompson, Jr., MD
  • 2014 Mark Soloway, MD
  • 2013 Urs E. Studer, MD
  • 2012 Alvaro Morales, MD, FRCSC, FACS
  • 2011 Mark Litwin, MD
  • 2010 Joel Sheinfeld, MD
  • 2009 Harry Herr, MD
  • 2008 Patrick Walsh, MD
  • 2007 Peter Scardino, MD
  • 2006 Andrew C. Novick, MD
  • 2005 Jean deKernion, MD
  • 2004 Paul H. Lange, MD
  • 2003 Lawrence Einhorn, MD
  • 2002 Andrew C. von Eschenbach, MD
  • 2001 Peter A. Jones, PhD, DSC
  • 2000 John Mendelsohn, MD, PhD, MA
  • 1999 Leroy Hood, MD, Ph.D
  • 1998 William R. Fair, MD
  • 1997 Richard D. Klausner, MD
  • 1996 Mark H. Skolnick, MD
  • 1995 John P. Donohue, MD
  • 1994 Willet F. Whitmore, Jr, MD