SUO Members Honored at the SUO Meeting at the AUA

Posted: June 15, 2017

SUA AUA Award Winners. SUO President Leonard G. Gomella, MD, FACS and President-Elect Chris Evans, MD, FACS pose with SUO award winners Daniel Barocas, MD, MPH, FACS; Pramod Sogani, MD; and Robert G. Uzzo, MD at the AUA 2017 Annual Meeting. From left to right: President-Elect Chris Evans, MD, FACS; Young Investigator Award Winner Daniel Barocas, MD, MPH, FACS; SUO Medal Winner Pramod Sogani, MD; Distinguished Service Award Winner Robert G. Uzzo, MD; President Leonard G. Gomella, MD, FACS.

Three SUO members were honored at the SUO 2017 Annual Meeting at the AUA Saturday, May 13.

Daniel Barocas, MD, MPH, FACS was presented with the Young Investigator Award, Pramod Sogani, MD was present with the SUO Medal, and Robert G. Uzzo, MD was presented with the Distinguished Service Award.

The Young Investigator Award recognizes clinical practice and/or basic research that has or will contribute to the improvement of clinical care and progress in science. The award is presented to an individual within 10 years after he or she completes residency or fellowship.

The SUO Medal is awarded to an individual for a specific achievement and/or significant contributions in the field of urologic oncology.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to a urologist whose actions at work or in the community exceed job expectations and reflect values of compassion, respect, trust, commitment to excellence, and teamwork, as well as educate the community about prostate cancer.